Urban Mobility

Now travel in DTC buses using metro card

Views: 1.4K

DTC buses using metro cardDelhi residents can now use the metro card to travel in Delhi Transport Corporation (DTC) buses as well. A common mobility card was launched by Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal allowing commuters in Delhi to use the same prepaid card to travel on Metro as well as DTC and cluster buses.

The card can be used in 250 buses and by March, it could be utilised in all the 5,421 buses.

Use of common mobility cards  is a common practise in cities such as London, Hong Kong and Singapore because it provides an integrated ticketing system for different modes of public transport.

The Delhi Government is hopeful that the card will popularise the buses among the metro users.

There are 13 lakh active Metro smart card users in Delhi. At the same time, ridership of buses is declining at a rapid rate.

The smart card will be swiped by the bus conductor once you board the bus. A paper ticket will be given to the commuters. The facility is already being used in Rohini I, Rajghat and Banda Bahadur Marg depots buses which caters to uses plying on routes from Mori Gate to Mayur Vihar Phase III, Jahangirpuri to Anand Vihar and Mukherjee Nagar to Inderpuri.

Depending on the popularity, the Government will decide whether to extend this facility to the metro feeder buses as well.

 Jake Butt Womens Jersey

Most Popular


About Us

Smart city portal was started with an aim to provide latest news information about the smart city mission of the Government of India. Founded in 2015, the portal enjoys the distinction of being India's first integrated website on smart cities of India. The website features stories on the economic growth of Indian cities where the government is trying to improve the quality of life of people by enabling local development and harnessing technology as a means to create smart outcomes for citizens.

Contact Us

Elets Technomedia Pvt. Ltd. Stellar IT Park, 7A/7B, 5th floor, Annexe Building, C-25, Sector 62 Noida – 201309, Uttar Pradesh, India

To Top