Agra metro: ASCL gives NOC to UPMRC

Agra Smart City Limited (ASCL) has given a no-objection certificate (NOC) to the Uttar Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation (UPMRC) for implementation of the Agra metro rail project.

As per the detailed project report (DRP), the Agra Metro Rail Project will have two corridors which will pass through the nucleus of the city and will connect main tourist places including Taj Mahal, Agra Fort, Sikandra, and other important places such as Raja Ki Mandi Railway Station, Medical College, Agra Cantt Railway Station, ISBT, Collectorate, Sanjay Place and surrounding densely populated residential areas.

According to reports, the first corridor of metro rail is proposed to pass through Fatehabad road where various beautification and drainage upgradation works are being carried out under the smart city project. Construction work of the metro rail may damage this upgradation work, in which case, UPMRC will have to finance the repairing work.

According to KB Singh, Additional Municipal Commissioner, Agra and Dy CEO, ASCL, Agra metro rail project is a significant scheme for the development of the city and therefore, the NOC has been provided with a few terms and conditions to ensure that work done under the smart city projects is not affected.

Also Read: Agra Smart City Private Limited to develop smart roads in old Agra

As per the DPR, the first corridor from Taj East Gate to Sikandra is proposed to be 14.00 km-long comprising of 13 Stations (6-elevated and 7-underground). The second corridor from Agra Cantt to Kalindi Vihar will be 15.40 km-long comprising of 14 elevated stations. The whole project is targeted to be completed by the end of 2024.

UPMRC has already taken approval for implementation of Agra metro rail project from the Municipal Corporation and Public Works Department (PWD). However, it is yet to take approval from the Taj Trapezium Zone (TTZ) authority, Ministry of Environment and the Supreme Court.

Eletsonline News
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button