Govt announces list of first 20 cities to be made ‘smart’

Views: 682

Venkaiah-NaiduThe Government of India has announced the name of 20 smart cities. These will be the first one to receive funds, hence initiating the process of developing these into smart cities. The next two years will see the inclusion of 40 and 38 cities, respectively.

The names of the cities that have been announced to be developed as smart cities are as follows:

  • Bhubaneshwar, Odisha
  • Pune, Maharashtra
  • Jaipur, Rajasthan
  • Surat, Gujarat
  • Kochi, Kerala
  • Ahmedabad, Gujarat
  • Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh
  • Vishakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh
  • Sholapur, Maharashtra
  • Davangere, Karnataka
  • Indore, Madhya Pradesh
  • New Delhi Municipal Corporation
  • Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu
  • Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh
  • Belagavi, Karnataka
  • Udaipur, Rajasthan
  • Guwahati, Assam
  • Chennai, Tamil Nadu
  • Ludhiana, Punjab
  • Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh

“Implementation of smart cities plan will showcase integrated planning. An investment of Rs 50,802 crore has been proposed in selected smart cities and towns during the five-year period,” said Minister of Urban Development Venkaiah Naidu while announcing the list.

There are five capital cities among the 20 smart cities chosen, according to Naidu.

The selected cities will be equipped with basic infrastructure, efficient urban mobility and public transport, IT connectivity and e-governance mechanisms.

The urban development ministry has received proposals for 97 cities in all from various state governments. Shawn Williams Womens Jersey

Most Popular


About Us

Smart city portal was started with an aim to provide latest news information about the smart city mission of the Government of India. Founded in 2015, the portal enjoys the distinction of being India's first integrated website on smart cities of India. The website features stories on the economic growth of Indian cities where the government is trying to improve the quality of life of people by enabling local development and harnessing technology as a means to create smart outcomes for citizens.

Contact Us

Elets Technomedia Pvt. Ltd. Stellar IT Park, 7A/7B, 5th floor, Annexe Building, C-25, Sector 62 Noida – 201309, Uttar Pradesh, India

To Top