Agra Smart City to develop five entry points to the Taj City

Agra Smart City Limited, the Special Public Vehicle (SPV) set up to implement the development work in the Taj City, has undertaken a model project to develop five entry points to the city.

The five entry points to Agra are: Etmadpur, Inner Ring Road at Fatehabad, Agra-Gwalior Highway, Jaipur Highway and the point near Kheria airbase.

Along with infrastructural upgradation and beautification on these roads, facilities like drinking water, e-toilets and Wi-Fi will also be installed.

This project has been undertaken after Uttar Pradesh Urban Development Ministry directed the municipal corporations of 10 cities, including Agra, to identify five such roads.

Read more: Agra to build 5 Mughal styled gateways on borders

As many as 50 model road development plans are underway in 10 cities of the state including Lucknow, Kanpur, Varanasi, Allahabad, Jhansi, Moradabad, Saharanpur, Bareilly and Aligarh.

Under this model road development plan, the roadside electricity poles will be removed. Transformers will be shifted away from roads and underground cables will be laid.

According to a nodal officer in charge of the smart city project, the road development will also include widening of road and installing high-tech lighting system. The other initiatives for beautification of the roads will include planting fruit bearing saplings on the road side and flowering and decorative plants on the dividers. Benches will also be placed on the road sides for people to sit.

Eletsonline News
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button