A shot in the arm for future mobility solutions

The Union Cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi has approved setting up of a National Mission on Transformative Mobility and Battery Storage, to drive clean, connected, shared, sustainable and holistic mobility initiatives in the country.

The mission, comprising multi-disciplinary stakeholders, will have an Inter-Ministerial Steering Committee to be chaired by CEO of NITI Aayog, the government policy think-tank.

The Steering Committee will have on board secretaries from Ministry of Road Transport and Highways, Ministry of Power, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy, Department of Science and Technology, Department of Heavy Industry, Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade, and Director General, Bureau of Industrial Standards.

The key role of the mission will include driving the strategies for transformative mobility and phased manufacturing programmes for Electronic Vehicles (EVs), EV components and batteries.

To ensure localised manufacturing, the government will launch a phased manufacturing programme (PMP) across the entire EV value chain.

The details of the value addition that can be achieved with each phase of localisation will be finalised by the mission with a clear ‘Make in India’ strategy for the electric vehicle components as well as battery.
Eletsonline News
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button