Centre approves fund for development of 272 districts

Views: 705


The Government has approved the Backward Regions Grant Fund (BRGF) for selected districts of the country’s various states to redress regional imbalances in development. The fund covers 272 districts of 27 States, including 35 districts of Uttar Pradesh.

These 35 districts of Uttar Pradesh are covered under the district components of the BRGF to expand its coverage. It will not only add value to other programs which are explicitly designed to meet rural employment and infrastructural needs, but also address the critical gaps.

The funds are being provided for these 35 identified districts of Uttar Pradesh for supplementing and converging existing developmental inflows, the Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Planning, Rao Inderjit Singh said in a written reply to Rajya Sabha.

The BRGF endeavors at catalysing development in backward areas by providing infrastructure; promoting good governance and agrarian reforms, along with converging through supplementary infrastructure and capacity building.

The Minister said that a special package for implementing Drought Mitigation Strategies in 7 districts of Bundelkhand region of Uttar Pradesh is being provided under the State component of the BRGF since 2009-10. These Districts are Banda, Chitrakoot, Hamirpur, Jalaun, Jhansi, Lalitpur and Mahoba.

Districts covered in UP

Ambedkar Nagar, Azamgarh, Bahraich, Balrampur, Banda, Barabanki, Basti, Badaun, Chandauli, Chitrakoot, Etah, Farrukhabad, Fatehpur, Gonda, Gorakhpur, Hamirpur, Hardoi, Jalaun, Jaunpur, Kaushambi, Kheri, Kushi Nagar, Lalitpur, Maharajganj, Mahoba, Mirzapur, Pratapgarh, Rae Bareli, Sant Kabeer Nagar, Shravasti, Siddharth Nagar, Sitapur, Sonbhadra, Unnao and Kanshiram Nagar Kemoko Turay Authentic Jersey

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular


About Us

Smart city portal was started with an aim to provide latest news information about the smart city mission of the Government of India. Founded in 2015, the portal enjoys the distinction of being India's first integrated website on smart cities of India. The website features stories on the economic growth of Indian cities where the government is trying to improve the quality of life of people by enabling local development and harnessing technology as a means to create smart outcomes for citizens.

Contact Us

Elets Technomedia Pvt. Ltd. Stellar IT Park, 7A/7B, 5th floor, Annexe Building, C-25, Sector 62 Noida – 201309, Uttar Pradesh, India

To Top