Final list of Smart Cities to be announced by Jan-end

Smart Cities MissionThe last 10 remaining cities of the Smart Cities Mission will be selected by January-end.

The Housing and Urban Affairs Ministry has already selected 90 cities under the scheme. Each city will get Rs 500 crore as central assistance for implementing projects.

The government aims to develop 100 smart cities under the scheme.

“The process is on. We have received the proposals from the cities. Next 10 cities will be announced by January-end next year,” said Housing and Urban Affairs Secretary D S Mishra.

Till now, 15 cities have submitted their proposal for the final round of the mission. Five cities are yet to submit it.

The cities which have submitted their proposals include Itanagar (Arunachal Pradesh), Biharsharif (Bihar), Amravati (Maharashtra), Erode and Dindigal (Tamil Nadu), and Uttar Pradesh’s Moradabad, Meerut, Saharanpur, Bareilly, Rampur, Rae Bareli and Ghaziabad.

From Union Terriroties, Silvasa (Dadra and Nagar Haveli), Kavarati (Lakshdweep) and Diu (Daman and Diu) have also sent their proposals.

Proposals are also expected from Bidhannagar, Durgapur and Haldia in West Bengal, Shillong in Meghalaya and Greater Mumbai in Maharashtra.

Eletsonline News
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button