Andhra to transform six municipal towns into smart cities

Andhra Pradesh’s government has decided to transform six municipal towns into smart cities. The decision to turn Srikakulam, Eluru, Ongole, Nellore, Kurnool and Anantapur into smart cities was taken in the cabinet meeting chaired by Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu.

The government will set up special purpose vehicles (SPVs) to channelise funds for these new smart cities.

Visakhapatnam, Kakinada and Tirupati have already been selected for the Smart City project of the Union government.

Meanwhile, China’s Guizhou province has emerged as one of the key investors in Andhra Pradesh.

Guizhou Province and Andhra Pradesh have recently signed a sister-state agreement for various development projects.

Apart from this, the Power China Guizhou Engineering Corporation has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Andhra Pradesh Economic Development Board (APEDB) to invest in infrastructure, renewable energy, power transmission and distribution.

The APEDB is a single point of contact for investments and partnerships in Andhra Pradesh. The Guizhou Kailin Group is already in advanced stages with Coromandel International Limited for establishing a $1-billion fertiliser plant in the Kakinada Special Economic Zone.

Eletsonline News
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button